The Dusk is for the Departed

Written with moonlight upon the deep coloured soils we tread.

Color me in Cyanide and Cherry

dusk_by_foureyes

*Image found HERE

My first ever attempt at a villanelle. I have always been fascinated by both the form and the poems created by following it, so I have decided to add my meager try.

The Dusk is for the Departed

Without you in the gold of day I seem all right,
at night, I swear, the highway moans your name,
the moonlight translates love into a blight.

Through streets I stumble pensive like a wright,
weaving tapestries for folk to solemnly proclaim
without you in the gold of day I seem all right.

I’m asked my honest heart and everything goes white,
I’m quiet, lonely, hungry, eager to be tamed,
the moonlight translates love into a blight.

A bluebird in a cage no longer dreams of flight,
it’s songs of rue and joy sound all the same,
without you in the gold of day I seem all right.

I…

View original post 58 more words

Write away...

