Bleeding wild tattoo

Bleeding wild tattoo

Shipping off to Dublin, with Gail, a day
Blow’in in across an Atlantic, a something
Tracey always did, storming toward wild cut rock
Rising up against a tinted east morning’s horizon

To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo
To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo

Hear the thunder tapping a hard roll’in ocean
At a moon’s call hither on a crashing high tide
As Gail an I set foot upon those grasses to Éire
Running to cross mountain peaks an ridges winding

To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo
To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo

Charting course, making for such Liffey head waters
A chilly winter’s air to breathe, a gale to our backs
Tumbling, rollin, foot over foot, down through a valley
Never to stop, nor til where old Dublin sits waiting

To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo
To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo

Take us home to The Pale, in that east coast cobbled city
Where family lived all them years, back there so long ago
Where square sails cut a dawn’s grey-blue sky, Julie’s race
To drink to family when it all rolls in, to drink the miles

To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo
To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo

14 responses to “Bleeding wild tattoo

  1. I love challenge you presented me with to read this correctly. When I did, it sounds like a tune, and is very catchy. I imagine the last 2 repeating lines as the chorus and I wish there was more to the poem!

      • It is at these moments that I wish my guitar skills were better, so I could just go ahead and start singing and jamming to the lines of this poem 🙂

      • I think this is one that will turn out with a number of versions, looking for variations in its road, its reel to the lines, words, and heart. Your still young, the skills will come, practice and experiment, though spare time too maybe rare. I’m happy you’ve found something in the poem that makes you want to make song and music .:)

    • A tune, a tune it does run with, a challenge to write. It was a good morning to wake with something lively. A little more has been added. Though still, I don’t think it is finished!

      • This is akin to personal tastes as well. Suprisingly, while most people tear up while listening to certain sad tunes, I tear up while listening to “Johhny I hardly knew ya”, so reading the first line of your poem emmediatly isolated me to a perhaps different realm of reading so to say, then those who associated it with something else.

      • Where loss and celebration meet, tears to a history wake in small places, but travel far. It was a Billy who reminded me of a few notes to “Rose Tattoo”, perhaps that was a starting place, and it grew from there over a week. Maybe that gives away too much to what is happening within the poem. You do have it right though, I think, it’s place.

    • Was sitting out a quarter of a mile on a natural volcanic rock spit back on Friday when a north-east wind was up, and it fitted well with where my head was at the time, a whole world away.

  2. “To find ourselves a tempest’s gale bleeding wild tattoo”
    That iterative verse is so powerful, Sean!. I truly like your poem… Great!
    Sending you all my best wishes!. Aquileana 😀

Write away...

