Driving in the dark

Another Friday night in a long line of Friday nights. It was closing time and Julie Ro an experienced triage nurse had just knocked off work as part-time security for pub, bar she is sitting at having her drink for the road. When she turns and asks, ” Come down to the coast with me tonight, Sea? Your only going to go looking for trouble if you stay up here.”

“I’ll be back in a minute, don’t leave without me this time.”

“Promise, I won’t. But don’t be all night about it, hurry up and get a move on.”

Sea disappears to the bathroom around the side of the bar.

“Barkeep, I mean Jennie. You know, Sea is the only regular that has never hit on me, but I’ve had some of the wildest, funniest and longest conversations with him, about different places in the world, travel, adventure. He’s even been through my home town down in NZ.

Write away...

