Falls heavy

Falls heavy

The world falls heavy on me
Time takes its toll to grieve
But I walk outside, beneath the sky
And I know just where I am today.
And I know just where I am today..

The rain falls heavy on me
Weather takes the leaves of trees
But I climb to the top to see the clouds
And I know just where the Sun’s today.
And I know just where the Sun’s today..

The darkness falls heavy on me
Places alone beneath fallen leaves
But I run until to reach the top of the ridge
And I know just where night’s stars will be.
And I know just where night’s stars will be..

Oh can’t we see all the scars we leave
About an earth all bent far across the seas
So much change, so much waste
Soon our wills come to lack life’s taste

In a world I know, it all falls heavy on me
In a world I know, the air between sky & sea

 

3 responses to “Falls heavy

  1. First off, I admire how you repeated the last two lines of each stanza. The feeling I get from this poem is palpable — like air. The poet bemoans a world I know; one I wish could change even for a minute.

    Here are some of my favourite lines:

    “Time takes its toll to grieve”
    “Weather takes the leaves of trees”

    • A little play at being musical, and I kind of veered tack a little towards the end. I would probably change “of” to “from the” in the second of your two favourite lines. It was an attempt to read life, and the natural world in one set of verses. Thanks, Uzo.

Write away...

