Wobbly Jim – a tale for kids of all ages

Wobbly Jim

As I sit here, I’ve a hand full of nine small books in my hand, full of colour, a good selection of words, and above all, full of adventure. The tale of Wobbly Jim and a parrot named Sue, by Kate Toon and Will Pearce.

Being a fan of wayfarers, wayfinders, and the brave whom venture far from land, I’m always up for a story that travels, in particular ones that don’t whitewash the difficulties, challenges, and hardships we face to living our lives, even as big or little kids.

Jim, Sue, and Dave, whom you’ll meet if you decide to offer a few doubloons, pieces of eight, some silver, or perhaps a little gold might not go astray, will take you on an adventure across the vast distances of their world through the extremes to a seafaring life, the ups, the downs, mateship, and lessons to share.

What a tale, I’ve just finished reading it for the first time, and I believe it to be entirely possible to read  the yarn of Wobbly Jim with a good hearty pirate voice in rhyme and rhythm, yes, this is not a book to read quietly, for the story rides the high seas with much momentum to keep any reader or listener entertained at bedtime, and anytime.

For in my mind The tale of Wobbly Jim and a parrot named Sue, X marks the spot.

To the post office I go, so spread the word!

6 responses to “Wobbly Jim – a tale for kids of all ages

  1. “I’m always up for a story that travels, in particular ones that don’t whitewash the difficulties, challenges, and hardships we face to living our lives, even as big or little kids.”
    Your message is meaningful, Sean. I like the way you presented it here with the aid of those books.
    I hope you’re doing great, my dear blog pal.

  2. Your presentation of the book has aroused my interest. I’ll see if I can get it around here. I’m confident it’s going to make for a lot of smiles.

Write away...

