Tussle

Tussle

Resting idle upon the rooftops of the wind,
Waiting for the shortest of days here to end.
While above, a lone river ripples through the sky,
Tinted toward reflections to a long dark passing night.
To try, evade, the first sullen glimpses of light,
Bending around fingertips held unto the east.
The depth of your shadow looms long to fight,
Deep blue silhouettes fresh to a sun’s now feast.
Inside the sounds to a pitching deck rolling high,
Long cracking notes to the timbers calked old.
As cold the chill, slips course through our bones,
The warmth of a balaclava face just inches away.

 

16 responses to “Tussle

    • An exploration as to what it might be like in a moment while climbing mountains in the Antarctic during the late/early hours. Just unsure of the season…

    • To start in a waiting moment, the end, just broke across its own blindness in the moments that flowed. The intention to continue, but time stopped me, an end by chance. Thank you, Michele.

  1. “The depth of your shadow looms long to fight,

    Deep blue silhouettes fresh to a sun’s now feast.”–>>>My favorite. You surely have a way with words.

    • Not sure where it’s come from, for until 2010/11, I’d written little to no creative/fictional styled pieces since school days. Thanks, Uzoma..

  2. Resting idle upon the rooftops of the wind,

    Waiting for the shortest of days here to end.
    I LOVE THE RYME, IT IS SO INTOXICATING, ITS LIKE SMOKING A JOINT WHICH I DON’T DO ANYMORE BUT IT FEELS SO GOOD TO READ SOMETHING THAT STIMULATES ME LIKE DRUGS USED TO. OH WHAT A FEELING!

    • Can’t say that I’ve ever experience that before, closest I’ve come that might relate to intoxicating, which I can relate to is a couple of unknowing falls from some height… Thanks, Latoya, have a top week!

      • LUCKY YOU, I WISH I COULD SAY THAT, I SPENDT 23 YEARS OF MY LIFE CHASING THE DRAGON. GOD DELIVERED ME!! I WILL BE CELEBRATEING 3 YEARS CLEAN AND FREE THE 24TH OF THIS MONTH. I AM SO PROUD OF ME!

        couple of unknowing falls from some height…YOUR WORDING IS ALWAYS SO POETIC!

        SHOW OFF (:

Write away...

