Sepia nights

Made it home before just an hour ago,
I left my keys behind, but hey that’s okay,
So I’m sitting in the dark here on the steps,
Peering through the sepia sky of my mind,

For the stars, The Way out here is bright,
Thinking I might just dream a story or two,
As the roof above it creaks to the growing cold,
A story begins to write, here paper pen the dark,

Music is all around, listen to the night of song,
No need to whisper, for now I’m on my own,
Tell me something night sky, how do you find the dark,
Between Earth and Cosmos, please just shout it out,

Soon here comes now, it’s some foreign lights,
Moving fast up the dark old winding autumn road,
Then it veers off, taking on some vanishing path,
So I’ll just wait here some more, in my sepia dark,

Riding the stories, here far beneath the waves
For the tide of night’s now swept on in through the dark,
The tiredness of the time here passing by the step,
Takes its toll in the colours of now escaping gravity,

It’s all a dream now as it was so long ago,
Just waiting on the old step for fresh light to show,
Another night now so wakes the next living day,
Which makes my story all here done and told,

Just now I found the back door was still unlocked…

11 responses to “Sepia nights

  1. TELL ME SOMETHING NIGHT SKY,,,,WOW, THAT WAS MY THOUGHT JUST SECONDS AGO AS I SIT AT MY WINDOW LOOKING OUT AT THE STARS PIN AND PAD IN MY LAP SILENTLY SCREAMING, SPEAK TO ME. SEAN THIS IS SO PURELY WRITTEN I FEEL IT CAME FROM SUCH A PURE, QUIET, GENUINE, BEAUTIFUL PLACE INSIDE OF YOU. THANK YOU.

    • It was all written beneath a clear blue Autumn sky, but I’ve a thing for sepia night photography, and when miles from artificial light. The night sky is just so alive to the evening songs of wild places… Thanks, Toya… Places I’ve been in life, and the places my mind can recall time and time again, but nothing beats being out in the bush on a clear night. What words found their way onto your pad?

      • I JUST POSTED IT W/ AUDIO A VAMPIRE LOVE STORY OF SORTS, I LOVE A GOOD VAMPIRE TALE. AND SINSE I WATCHED 3 SEASONS OF THE VAMPIRE DIARIES ON NETFLIX IN TWO DAYS I THOUGHT IT APPROPRIATE TO WRITE ABOUT IT (:

  2. Reblogged this on mentalnotes1 and commented:
    I HAVE JUST BEEN IN SUCH A QUIET PLACE IN MY LIFE AND I SOMETIMES CONFUSE THIS PLACE WITH ISOLATION. SEAN “WORDSMITH” I HAVE COINED HIM DESCRIBES THIS PLACE SO BEAUTIFULLY.

  3. Pingback: Between paper boats, and fair weather friends | Sean Bidd·

Write away...

