In the night, let’s go there just you and me…

It is like 3am in the morning here, I fell asleep in the living room and woke up with the below rattling through my head. Who needs sleep when words are on the run, but I better get some, just in case this rain stops and I get to go sliding around in the mud in a few hours. Cheers!

In the night, let’s go there just you and me…

I don’t want to close my eyes,
No, I don’t want to fall asleep,
The darkness it just wakes me up,
For an adventure of the night, they speak,

Heading out beneath the weather,
The rain it keeps on coming down,
But I’m heading out for a new country,
Traveling to where the stories roam,

With their rain and snow upon my face,
The traveler’s dust kicking under foot,
Off to share time lost in conversations,
In a small world that just keeps on turning,

Don’t tell me this is not the thing to do,
Tell me the world is such a bright place,
With friends to be made all along the way,
Or am I just a dreamer whose caught out of place,

Boy I just want to hear your stories,
I want to share some good times too,
So join me on this far and reaching ride,
Lets live the many places where we want to be,

I’m saying let’s head out across the seas,
To the lost deserts, and the mountain streams,
Where the rugged west coasts meet the sea,
To all the places that we dream about,

Let’s head out there, just you and me….

6 responses to “In the night, let’s go there just you and me…

  1. Uhuh…This piece has a singsong pattern to it really. Here are some of my fav:

    “Don’t tell me this is not the thing to do,
    Tell me the world is such a bright place,
    With friends to be made all along the way,
    Or am I just a dreamer whose caught out of place…”<<<somehow, It reminds me of Bruno Mars' song Lazy Day

    and this…

    "I’m saying let’s head out across the seas,
    To the lost deserts, and the mountain streams,
    Where the rugged west coasts meet the sea,
    To all the places that we dream about,

    Let’s head out there, just you and me…."

    Well done, Sean.

    • Cheers Uzoma, it has been done in a lyrical format while listening to the rhythm of the falling rain and the wind. Some places here have had half a metre in less than 24 hours, a lot of flooding getting around at the moment.

      I have not heard much of Bruno Mars, I’m mostly into folk/indie/alternative. Thanks for dropping by again, cheers!

Write away...

