Pictures of a storm and the sea, in my head tonight

Picturing storms by the sea in my head tonight, holding up in some make shift shelter, and watching a storm out at sea. It’s been a few times, and I would watch them till my eyes could no longer stay open, as a weary body fades into sleep, under the spell of their song, a storm and the sea…

Pictures of a storm and the sea, in my head tonight

You’ve got me picturing storms in my head tonight,
On a deserted piece of coastline so faraway,
Where the seas roll high upon a night sky,
As the wind gusts raise in flight,  seaspray of the night.

While light the sand jumps about in small eddies,
Waltzing upon a lull world of gentle shifting dunes,
Where to sea, ribbons of light begin a dance,
To a slow fading western moon of coastal hills.

The sea begins to sing louder in clashes of love,
For the ribbons of light and darkness meet in a tango,
Upon the rumble of desire for the deep notes of song,
In the whispered greetings between a storm and the sea

A story springs to life out of the ribbons of light,
To the musical deep soft spoken tones tonight,
As delight dwells down deep with in the sea’s stormy heart,
Be the pictures of a storm and the sea, in my head tonight.

4 responses to “Pictures of a storm and the sea, in my head tonight

  1. Sean, your imagination is rich and colorful. If I were new to your blog, I’d have mistook you for a sailor for you described the sea’s energy so nicely. The ending of the poem is my favorite. Here: “As delight dwells down in the stormy sea’s heart”<<great aliteration.

    • Thanks, Uzoma, the imagination suits for not being out on it, but watching from shore. If out in such a tangled beast, I’d be calling it “bolts and chains flung fast upon wind tormented waters, where the fury born breeds chaos upon ones lonely soul for company,” or something kind of like that; the romantic sailor, versus the hardened seaman. Cheers!

  2. “and I would watch them till my eyes could no longer stay open, as a weary body fades into sleep, under the spell of their song, a storm and the sea…”

    … I have thought of this feeling so many times. I would like to thank you for giving this feel so beautiful words!!

Write away...

